UK Journey Lists: What The Newest Covid Guidelines Imply For You

The latest travel lists for the Covid-19 era are changing starting this weekend, which could have a big impact on your summer plans.

This is a list of restrictions for travelers returning to England from outside the UK.

They all need to book and pay for a Covid test to be taken on or before their second day in England if they are 11 years of age or older.

If a returning traveler tests positive for Covid, or someone who has traveled with positive tests, they must be quarantined.

You will also need to fill out a passenger search form when returning to England.

Covid rules and guidelines change frequently. You can find the latest information here.

The green list

Travelers from countries on the Green List must perform a pre-departure test and a PCR test on or before the second day.

They don’t need to be quarantined unless they test positive for Covid after arriving in England.

Austria, Germany, Slovenia, Slovakia, Latvia, Romania and Norway are on the Green List from August 8th.

As of Sunday, the following countries will be on the Green List:

Anguilla, Antarctica or British Antarctic Territory, Antigua and Barbuda, Austria, Australia, Barbados, Bermuda, British Indian Ocean Territory, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cayman Islands, Croatia, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Germany, Gibraltar, Grenada, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel and Jerusalem, Latvia, Madeira, Malta, Montserrat, New Zealand, Norway, Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, Romania, Singapore, Solvenia, Slovakia, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, St. Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, Taiwan and Turks and Caicos Islands.

Some of these countries are threatened with reclassification. These include:

Anguilla, Antarctica / British Antarctic Territory, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Bermuda, British Indian Ocean Territory, Cayman Islands, Croatia, Dominica, Grenada, Israel and Jerusalem, Madeira, Montserrat, Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, Taiwan, Turks and Caicos Islands.

Germany will soon be on the green list

The amber list

Individuals entering from countries on the yellow list must be quarantined at home or where they are staying for 10 days unless they have both doses of the vaccine from the UK, some European countries, or Received under the UK Overseas Vaccination Program.

Even then, travelers must have had their second vaccination at least two full weeks prior to entering England.

Individuals under the age of 18 living in the UK on arrival in England – or in a country with a UK-approved vaccination program – are not required to self-isolate, while those participating in a UK-approved vaccine study are also exempt .

Those who do quarantine will have to take a Covid test on the second and eighth days of their self-isolation, although some may pay for a private test on the fifth day as part of the test-to-release program.

If this is negative, the traveler can leave the isolation early.

Four new countries will be added to the yellow list that will come off the red list on Sunday; India, Bahrain, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates.

India’s Taj Mahal

So countries on the Amber List will soon include:

Akrotiri and Dhekelia, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Armenia, Aruba, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bahrain, Bhutan, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Bosnia and Herzegovina, British Virgin Islands, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon , Canada, Central African Republic, Chad and China.

Comoros, Congo, Cook Islands, Tokelau and Niue, Ivory Coast, Curacao, Cyprus, Czech Republic (Czech Republic), Denmark, Djibouti, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Greece, Greenland, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras and Hungary.

India, Iran, Iraq, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mali, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro and Morocco.

Nauru, Netherlands, New Caledonia, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, North Macedonia, Occupied Palestinian Territories, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Portugal (except Madeira), Qatar, Russia, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi- Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Solomon Islands, South Korea, South Sudan, Spain, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Maarten, St. Martin and St. Barthelemy, St. Pierre and Miquelon, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Sweden .

Switzerland, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, USA, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Wallis and Futuna, Western Sahara and Yemen.

We’re making some changes to our travel lists🚦

First, we are removing the quarantine requirement for travelers returning from #France who are fully vaccinated.

At the same time, we are adding important destinations ☀️ Germany, Austria and Norway to the Green List 🟢[1/3]

– Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP (@grantshapps) August 4, 2021

Amber plus list

Only France is on that particular list.

That means by that Sunday all travelers will have to be quarantined and Covid tested on their second and eighth days of their return to the UK, with no exception for full vaccinations.

But a new deal comes into effect on August 8th.

Anyone entering England from France will no longer have to be in quarantine from Sunday as long as they are fully vaccinated, just like any other nation on the Amber List.

The red list

Starting at 4 a.m. on Sunday August 8, a number of new countries will be on the red list, meaning travelers will have to be quarantined in a hotel and take a Covid test for 10 days before returning to England.

Travelers from countries on the Red List must also do a PCR test on the second and eighth day of their quarantine.

As of August 12, the government will increase the cost of quarantine for people aged 13 and over.

It is said that this is “to ensure that taxpayers do not subsidize the cost of staying at these facilities”, although there are alternative payment methods for those who “really cannot afford to pay”.

Georgia, Mexico and the French overseas territories in the Indian Ocean, La Réunion and Mayotte, were placed on the red list.

As of Sunday, all of the following countries will be on this list:

Afghanistan, Angola, Argentina, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Congo (Democratic Republic), Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Eritrea, Swaziland, Ethiopia, French Guiana , Georgia, Guyana, Haiti, Indonesia, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Maldives, Mayotte
and Mexico.

Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Reunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button