Sajid Javid appoints Ofcom Board Members

Sajid Javid has appointed The Baroness Noakes DBE as vice chairman and Stephen Hill and Graham Mather as board members, each for a four-year term. Baroness Noakes and Graham Mather will take office on June 1, 2014, and Stephen Hill will begin on October 1, 2014.

Dame Lynne Brindley DBE was re-elected until August 31, 2017, and Tim Gardam and Mike McTighe’s terms were extended to December 31, 2015.

Biographical information

Baroness Noakes

Baroness Noakes is a certified public accountant and previously headed KPMG’s European and international government practice. She was also President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. Baroness Noakes was appointed to the House of Lords in 2000. She is an experienced, non-executive director. Her current directorships include the Royal Bank of Scotland Group Plc, where she chairs the Risk Committee.

Stephen Hill

Stephen Hill has held a variety of senior positions including chief executive of the Financial Times, chief executive of Betfair and a non-executive director of Channel 4. He is currently chairman of UK charity Action on Hearing Loss and chairman and chief executive of DAval Limited, a private investment company .

Graham Mather

Graham Mather was a member of Ofcoms Consumer Panel from 2004 to 2008. He was a member of the Monopoly and Merger Commission and, between 2000 and 2012, was also a member of the Competition Appeal Tribunal, the body that deals with complaints from UK regulators. Graham is currently President of the European Policy Forum and Chairman of its Regulatory Best Practice Group.

Dame Lynne Brindley DBE

Dame Lynne Brindley DBE received her Masters of Pembroke College from Oxford University in August 2013. She was Chief Executive of the British Library from 2000-2012 and before that Pro Vice-Chancellor at the University of Leeds. Lynne was also a senior consultant at KPMG and held leadership positions in information technology and knowledge management at Aston University and the London School of Economics.

Tim Gardam

Tim Gardam has been Rector of St. Annes College, Oxford since 2004. Prior to that, he had a 25-year career in broadcasting, starting with the BBC, where he rose to head of current affairs and weekly news. He was part of the first senior management team at Five and was also Director of Programs at Channel Four. He was the author of the DCMS Review for BBC Digital Radio Services in 2004, a member of the Lord Burnss Advisory Panel on the BBC Charter Review and Director of SMG plc from 2005 to 2007. He founded and is now chairman of the Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism at Oxford University. In addition to his role on the Main Board, Tim is currently Chairman of Ofcom’s Content Board.

Mike McTighe

Mike McTighe has held a number of directorships and is currently Chairman of WYG plc. He was Chairman of Volex Group plc until 2013 and Chairman of JJB Sports until 2012. He was previously Chairman & CEO of Carrier1 International SA and prior to that Executive Director & Chief Executive (Global Operations) at Cable & Wireless plc. He spent his previous career at GE, Motorola and Phillips.

Notes for editors

  1. Ofcom is the independent regulator and competition authority for the UK communications industry, with responsibilities for television, radio, telecommunications, wireless communications and postal services.

  2. For more information on Ofcom, see

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button